Red Butterfly Travel Series: Baguio

Standard

I’ve been to Baguio lots of times already. And every time I go there, there’s always a new place to go to. Or new food to try.

My friends and I always stay at Bloomfield Hotel. It’s clean, affordable and has free Wi-Fi access in all rooms. It’s near SM Baguio and Session Road.

For only 1,780 pesos (38 USD) you can get a room good for two with all the basic amenities. You only have to add 230 pesos (5 USD) if you want to have breakfast there.

Bloomfield Hotel

No. 3 Leonard Wood Road, Baguio City, 2600 Philippines
(6374) 446-9112 to 15 / (0917) 510-0044
info@bloomfieldhotel.com

PLACES TO GO TO:

The ones in red are the places I haven’t been to yet. I’m very interested to go to the last 5 locations. Especially the Balatoc Mines. They say visitors get to ride in an underground train. I’d like to get a feel of how it’s like to be a miner for a day. Hopefully by December, my friends and I would be able to go to some of these places. And hopefully, Baguio has recovered by then from the destruction brought by typhoon Ondoy (Ketsana).

WHERE TO EAT:

  • Sizzling Plate Baguio – located along Session Road. All meals are served with rice, veggies and soup. Steaks cost around 120 to 180 pesos (around 3 to 4 USD) except for the Angus Beef which costs more. A must-try there is the Sans Rival which a lot of people are raving about. Oh and it only costs around 25 pesos (or .53USD).

  • Choco-late de Batirol – located inside Camp John Hay. I love their hot chocolate. My favorite is the Traditional Blend which only costs 70 pesos (1.50 USD). I’ve also tried the Cinnamon and the Almond blends. I haven’t tried the Baguio blend though. It’s strawberry-flavored. I love strawberries but I’m not sure I’m going to like that fruity flavor in my hot choco. If you don’t like it hot, they also offer cold versions of their Choco-late. The price ranges from 70-115 pesos (1.50-2.50 USD). If you want to eat, they also serve different types of Filipino food and meriendas.

  • Cafe by the Ruins – is located at Chuntug street near the city hall and Rizal Park. It’s a cafe and an art space as well. Many exhibits and art performances are held here. The food is great! It’s a bit pricey (around 180-400 pesos or 4-8.50 USD) but it’s worth it! Their menu changes from time to time depending on what’s in season. My friends and I tried the Pinikpikan which is their specialty (see picture below). I have to admit, I didn’t like it as much as some of my friends did but at least now I know what it is and what it tastes like (LOL). I would come back here to try new dishes.

  • Forest House – is located along Loakan road. What I love most about this place is the bottomless coffee which only costs 50 pesos (less than 1USD). Yes. Bottomless brewed coffee. For coffee lovers, this is enough reason to go to this place. The food is expensive though (around 80-650 pesos or 2-14 USD) but it’s soooo good! I ordered the pumpkin soup (85 pesos or 2 USD) and the Spicy Tuna Linguine (225 pesos or 5 USD). I highly recommend both. It took me a long time to finish my food though. The waiter told us that the serving is good for one person. While I was eating, I realized it was actually good for two. Good thing my friends helped me finish it. But if you have a large appetite, you’d be able to finish the pasta by yourself. I had two mugs of coffee after that (LOL). I was soooo full!

  • PNKY Travel Cafe – located along Leonard Wood Road. It’s actually a Bed and Breakfast with an art gallery and a cafe. The food is okay. However, it is not advisable to eat here if you’re with a large group because it takes them around 30-45mins to cook an order of food. And they cook the food as you order. I like the feel and the design of the cafe though. It’s  homey and laid back.

I can’t wait to go back to Baguio!

3 thoughts on “Red Butterfly Travel Series: Baguio

Leave a Reply

