Red Butterfly Travel Series: Bohol

Standard

From Manila, we went to Cebu to meet up with some friends then took a ferry going to Bohol.

There are many ferries to choose from. There’s Super Cat (300 Roundtrip), Ocean Jet (500 Roundtrip) and Weesam Express (400 Roundtrip). I forgot which one we took but I think it’s the Super Cat ferry… because it’s cheap. LOL!

We stayed at JJ’s Alona Rooms, Bar and Restaurant. It’s not located at the beachfront, but it’s still near the beach. The rooms are clean and roomy. And the staff is very friendly. The rates are cheap, although I’m not sure of their rates now. When I checked their website, they removed the rates. They’re probably going to change them. The best way to find out is to contact them and ask for their current rates.

JJ’s Alona Rooms, Bar and Restaurant

Tawala, Panglao, Bohol
Telefax: +6338-502-9129Ā  Mobile: +63921588-2465/+63917929-0190
info@jjsalona-panglao.com

What I love about the beach in Bohol is the sand. The very, very, very, very fine white sand. It’s finer than the sand in Boracay and Puerto Princesa. Aside from that, the water’s very clear. And the best part is, it’s not crowded… yet! Unlike in Boracay or Puerto Galera.

WHERE TO EAT:

PLACES TO GO TO:

  • Chocolate Hills – I remember learning about these strange hills when I was still in grade school. It never occurred to me that someday, I’d be able to see the hills in person. I was in awe when I saw them.

  • Loboc River Cruise – For 500 PHP (11 USD), we were able to cruise along Loboc River for an hour while having buffet lunch.

I got a little disappointed when all we saw at the end of the river is a small falls.

  • Hanging Bridge – This hanging bridge above Loboc River sways as you walk so it’s a little scary.

  • Tarsier and Wild Life Sanctuary -Tarsiers are considered the smallest primates in the world. They are nocturnal beings so tourists (myself included) are actually messing up with their body clock during daytime. They’re a little psychotic as they tend to commit suicide when they’re stressed out. Considering they’re already an endangered species, anything that would give them stress should be avoided or forbidden (like trying to wake them up during the day or taking photos of them with flash).

  • Baclayon Church – The oldest Catholic stone church in the Philippines. It has a convent, a museum and a dungeon inside.
  • Prony the Python – The largest captive reticulated python. Some say it’s already dead. I dunno and I really don’t care (I have an irrational fear of snakes).

I was more curious about the iguana known as “Angelina Jolie” because of its “lips”.

If you’re planning to go there, don’t forget to bring home Peanut Kisses (Bohol’sĀ  famous candy delicacy shaped like the Chocolate Hills)!

12 thoughts on “Red Butterfly Travel Series: Bohol

  1. Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

