Red Butterfly Travel Series: Boracay

Standard

The first time my friends and I went to Boracay, we were greeted by large clumps of floating algae on the beach. Then when we got off the boat, I learned about the 3 stations:

  • Station 1 – for snob, rich or “feeling rich” people (socialites and foreigners included)
  • Station 2 – for people who are neither rich nor poor
  • Station 3 – for locals or really, really cheap people

I know. It sounds really harsh but that’s how it was explained to me. This really made me question people’s fascination with the place. But then I reminded myself that I was on vacation and that I didn’t go there to be bothered by such things. I went there with my friends to relax, enjoy and have fun.

It’s really hard not to like Boracay, what with its white sand (even though I like Bohol’s better), calm waters, its slew of beautiful half-naked people and gorgeous sunsets. I’m a sucker for sunsets. I guess that’s one of the reasons why I eventually fell in love with the place.

My friends and I have been to Boracay four times already. The last time we were there, we stayed at Boracay Courtyard Beach Resort, La Carmela de Boracay’s sister hotel. We availed of their Barkadahan Promo Package which includes:

  • 2 nights & 3 days full board accommodation
  • Room + Meals (Maximum of 4 pax sharing a Semi-Deluxe Room)
  • 6 Set Meals/pax @ Low Season; 4 Set Meals + 2 Buffet Dinner @ High/Super Season (plus Php300.00 on rates if availing of all-buffet meals)
  • Dinner / pax @ High/Super 5 (plus Php 300.00 if all Buffet)
  • Happy Hour rates on beer products

Accommodation and buffet meals for 3 days for less than 2,000 pesos per person (43 USD) is a great deal. So what’s the catch? Nothing really. Well the food wasn’t that good (as expected) but it wasn’t that bad either. The room was ok, but you don’t go to Boracay just to stay in the hotel room anyway, so we really had no qualms about our stay there.

Boracay Courtyard Beach Resort

Station 2 (at the back of Victory Divers), Brgy. Balabag, Boracay Island, Malay, Aklan, Philippines
+639189376573 / +639177199970 /+639228444521 /+639209513665
info@boracaycourtyard.com

WHERE TO GO AND WHAT TO DO:


  • Island Hopping – Puka Shell Beach, Crocodile Island, Balinghai Beach
  • Mount Luho – climb the highest point in Boracay
  • Boracay Butterfly Garden
  • Bat Caves
  • Dead Forest
  • Reef Walking (Helmet Diving)
  • ATV Adventure
  • Horseback riding (very White Castle Whiskey)
  • Glass Bottom Boat
  • Windsurfing and Kitesurfing
  • Parasailing
  • Skimboarding

Or you can just lie on the sand and let the waves caress your feet.

WHERE TO EAT:

  • Jonah’s Fruit Shake and Snack Bar – They serve (arguably) the best fruit shakes in Boracay. Personally, I like Jony’s fruit shakes better. They’re smoother, more flavorful and cheaper.
  • Aria – They serve Italian food. A little expensive though.
  • Mañana – Best Taco place in Boracay.
  • Real Coffee – Aside from coffee they also serve really good brownies and calamansi muffins.
  • Smoke Restaurant – They serve affordable Filipino food.
  • Blue Berry Restaurant – Grilled food and Piña Coladas. Yummm…
  • Bite Club Burgers – Affordable char-grilled burgers.
  • D’ Talipapa – Much like Dampa here in Metro Manila.

There are lots of other restaurants there. My suggestion is to try everything.

I miss Boracay. I must go back soon!

5 thoughts on “Red Butterfly Travel Series: Boracay

  1. Nice article! I and my friends spent breathtaking time at Boracay Courtyard Beach Resort. The staff was courteous and hospitable. Lots of reasonable accommodations in Boracay area but this resort which one the best.

    Best Regards,

Leave a Reply

